OUR BLOG

New Jersey Recreational Marijuana Laws

Cannabis Business in NJ

Recreational marijuana is now legal in New Jersey. The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act (known as A21) was signed into law on February 22, 2021, by Governor Phil Murphy. Previously, voters in the state approved Ballot Question 1 to legalize cannabis in the November 2020 election. Additionally, two bills were passed accompanying the legalization act, A1897 and S3454, outlining further regulations for decriminalization, criminal record expungement, and penalties for underage use. SEE New Jersey’s Decriminalization & Cannabis Legalization

Previously, Medical marijuana was legalized in New Jersey under former Governor Jon Corzine, and signed into law via the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA), allowing safe access to medical cannabis for qualifying patients. The first medical marijuana dispensaries, or Alternative Treatment Centers, opened their doors in 2012, and the state has seen significant progress since. While recreational dispensaries are not yet open, regulators have stated their intentions for a quick launch, possibly making use of established medical dispensaries.

How much Marijuana can you purchase?

As of February 22, 2021, New Jersey residents 21+ may possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis or its equivalencies. Under New Jersey medical marijuana law, physicians determine the dosage allowed for the patient, with a cap set at 3 ounces for a 30-day period. That means that no patient is allowed to possess more than 3 ounces of cannabis at any given time. Under A1897, possession of up to 6 ounces of cannabis has been decriminalized as well.

Purchasing limits for recreational marijuana are still forthcoming. Expect more information as dispensary guidelines are established in 2021. They are expected to match possession limits of 1 ounce or its equivalent.

Medical marijuana can be purchased from any state-licensed New Jersey cannabis dispensary (Alternative Treatment Centers). Each patient’s purchase cap varies. Physicians determine the proper dosage allowed for the patient, with a maximum set at 3 ounces for a 30-day period. Each dose is sold in quarter-ounce denominations.

Where can you use Marijuana?

Currently, recreational cannabis can only be consumed in a private residency. According to New Jersey state law, medical cannabis patients are also encouraged to only consume marijuana in their private residences. Note that the medical rules for consumption specify a “moving” vehicle. This means that New Jersey is hypothetically one of the few states that allow legal consumption in a parked vehicle. Cardholders are not protected should they be caught driving high or consuming in a moving vehicle, and can still be charged with DUI if this is the case.

Driving under the influence of medicinal marijuana is prohibited in New Jersey. DUI laws remain the same for cannabis as any other substance. The law also includes the operation of any aircraft, heavy equipment, train, or other vessels.

Unsealed cannabis must be “located in the trunk of a motor vehicle, behind the last upright seat in a trunkless vehicle, or in the living quarters of a motor home or house trailer.” It is illegal to transport amounts larger than state possession limits allow without a commercial cannabis license to do so.

Read Full Article

SOURCE: NJPOTGUIDE

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email